Mahajana Education Society (R)

Mahajana First Grade College

Mahajana Education Society ® (MES) was established in the city of Mysore in the year 1937 with the objective of developing an institution offering value and need based education to the general public. The efforts of visionary philanthropists like Sri Ambale Subramanya Iyer, Sri Agaram Suryanarayana Pandit, Sri G. Ranganna, Sri Jois MN, Sri M.N.Ramachandra Jois and others to leave a lasting legacy has become a reality, today. The society is one of the premier educational societies of Karnataka.


The society is celebrated Platinum Jubilee in 2012-13. In its big march it has registered tremendous impact upon its surrounding by its pragmatic outlook and concern for human values. Well-known personalities like late Sri. B. Rachaiah, former Governor of Kerala; late Sri Tulasidas Dasappa; Sri S.M. Krishna, former Chief Minister of Karnataka; late Sri Poornachandra Tejaswi noted writer and host of personalities from the field of movies, Sports, Social Service and other professionals form an illustrious line of its alumni.

The management is spearheaded by well-known educationist and entrepreneur, Sri R. Vasudeva Murthy as President, supported by a dedicated team of office bearers including Sri Muralidhar Bhagavat as Vice President, Dr.Vijayalakshmi Bhagavat as Hon.Secretary and Sri. N. Vijaya Kumar as the Treasurer. The Governing body consists of learned scholars, Ex-Vice Chancellors, writers, thinkers and people from the cross section of the society. It is the policy making apex body, which is assisted by a full time Administrative Officer.

Mahajana Education Institutions have today, branched out in several directions and have registered unprecedented growth in terms of numbers, size and dimensions. A total number of 5.333 students and 533 staff members are in its fold, today. The institutions run by Mahajana Education Society range from pre school to PG centre.


Marching on...

 We are proud that we belong to an institution which has traversed seventy five eventful years on its way to reach its present status. Education is a commitment on our part and we bring it in the best way possible, going with the Mahajana culture. No amount of challenges would deter us from our avowed resolve to be useful, responsible and remarkable in our endeavour to give the elixir of life-sustaining education to the youths of our society upon whose shoulders lie the future of our country Bharath.

Our next two years are dedicated to consolidation of our efforts towards fruit bearing results. I appeal to all the Stake holders, Students, Parents, Teachers, Alumini and the Public to keep phase with the college on our march.

  The College

SBRR Mahajana First Grade College took birth in the year 1982, exclusively as a women's college offering B.A. & B.Com. courses. It was admitted to the grant-in-aid in the year 1987 & in 1988 became a co-educational institution. As the college took rapid strides, B.Sc. course was introduced in the year 1989, BBM course & Bio-technology, Biochemistry & Microbiology combination in B.Sc. were added in 1994 & 2004 respectively. BCA course was introduced in 2008. In persistent persuit of its primary desire, in the year 1999-at the threshold of 21st century, the college started a post-Graduation Centre, thereby achieving a milestone in the path of Higher Education. Celebrating its Silver Jubilee in the august presence of Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam, former President of India, the institution today is heading towards completion of three decades in collegiate education.

Affiliated to the legendary University of Mysore & having been re-accredited by NAAC, the college has signed Letter of Intent for the third cycle of accreditation. It has been recognised as College with Potential for Excellence (CPE), in 2010 and the College has also applied for autonomy.

NSS, NCC, Rovers, Red Cross, Adventure Club, Medini, Forum for Universal Brotherhood, One India One People, Human rights Organisation - to mention a few - a total of one hundred & two fora with active participation of the student community & faculty are at work today. The award of the Best NSS Unit & Officer, Best Unit awards of Rotaract Club & Medini-Nature Lovers Club & recognition as Lead College for TQM by the State Government are worth mentioning. The college is also recipient of Excellence Award from Indian Colleges Forum (ICF). The College has won NCC Best Institution Award (SD) for KAR. Goa Directorate.

The six- time First Prize Winner at the University competition Mandara the college magazine, in-house publications like newsletters & booklets have left their imprint on the path of achievement of the college. Students & staff showcase their achievements alike. While the staff are engaged in research activity, paper presentation & participation in the international & national conferences & seminars, the students have excelled in curricular & co-curricular activities, exhibiting their tremendous talents


The First Principal of the college was Sri G.S. Mylari Rao, a retired professor of English, who served from 1982 to 1988. Afterwards three Principals have completed their term as successful administrative heads.They are Prof. K.S. Boregowda (1988 - 1989), Dr. V.N. Nayak (1989 -1999), Prof. P. Sarojamma (1999 - 2006).



The First Principal of the college was Sri G.S. Mylari Rao, a retired professor of English, who served from 1982 to 1988. Afterwards three Principals have completed their term as successful administrative heads.They are Prof. K.S. Boregowda (1988 - 1989), Dr. V.N. Nayak (1989 -1999), Prof. P. Sarojamma (1999 - 2006).


The present Head of the Institution Prof. K .V Prabhakara is holding the office of Principal since 01.02.2006. He was heading the Department of Commerce before taking over as the Principal. During his tenure as the Head of the Department of Commerce, he had also occupied the posts of Coordinator of Rotaract Club & Medini, Programme Officer in NSS and had commanded the college NCC unit for a period of one and a half decades. He is a member of Syndicate of University of Mysore and has served as the member of Academic Council for a term. Presently he is the Secretary of the 'Principals' forum', Mysore Zone. He has   presented research papers in the areas of Micro Finance & Higher Education at International & National seminars and conferences. With his proactive approach to administration together, every one achieves more - he has ushered in a new work culture involving total participation of staff and students in daily administration. His incessant efforts are towards fulfilment & perfection.

The college with its nationalistic stand, pro-people approach, humane values and student centred administration has been emerging as a centre of excellence in the field of higher education in the country.